Leon by night

Although Leon has been around for some time now, I have only just tried it out for the first time. I grabbed some pre-drinks food at the Leon at Ludgate Circus one evening. By day, Leon operates like a normal cafe and by night it switches to “”restaurant mode” with table service.

First the upside – plenty of good and inexpensive veggie fare. I had hummus with warm flatbread, falafel, pea salad and brown rice. Next time I’ll also order some grilled halloumi. The food was not out of this world, with the falafel being slightly dry and the rice on the underdone side BUT I did really like how easy it felt to eat vegetarian and the casual seating felt really relaxing after a long day at work. Plus I was pleasantly surprised by how good the coffee was – a non scalding latte is sadly a rarity in London and I would definitely pop in for afternoon coffee with one of their dangerous looking brownies.

The downside was the service – Leon is designed for its day job and our waitress scrambled our order a bit. It didn’t matter at all but fine dining this is not.

Leave a comment